Paper Torn Fall Tree

I used to work for an after school program where we did many different things and one being crafts with the students. We were able to come up with our own craft and that’s when Pinterest and I became best friends. I would search for something that was quick and easy for my students to do. I found so many different variations that at the end of this post I will be sharing some of my favorites.

I wasn’t planning on make a pinterest page for this site but I went ahead and made one, so you can follow me on there, click here.

What You Need:

  • Construction Paper in Red, Yellow, Orange, Brown and White
  • Glue/Glue Sticks

fall-trees

Before I go on, I would like to say I made this art project to go into a memory book I was making for my students to take home at the end of the year. Since I wanted my books to be a certain size, I took a standard printer paper and cut it half for them to glue on. So if you are wanting to use a big sheet of paper just adjust the size of brown paper you give out.

Aright let’s begin, to make the trunk I had the students work with a partner. Give them half a sheet of brown paper (about 9 x 6 inches). Have one person tear it in half and give one half to their partner. Now have them tear the paper to make the trunk and with the left over paper they can make branches for their tree. Glue pieces on the white paper, I prefer with little ones to use glue sticks it’s less of a mess than using white glue.

Now give each student small piece of paper (about 4 x 6 inches) in red, orange and yellow to start off with, have them tear small pieces for their leaves. I suggest having them do a little at at time, tear and glue, tear and glue and so on. I did this because certain students will leave during projects and they would have all this torn paper mess to clean up. Also they will end up with too much torn pieces but if that happens they can just give it to another student. Have them keep going until they are happy with it, some of my students add very little leaves compared to the others.

Tearing up paper is a great fine motor skill especially for younger children, so not only are they having fun they are helping themselves.

This craft can easily be done with other seasons as well, winter: you can leave it bare or glue the trunk on to blue paper and have them tear up white pieces of paper, spring: you could do shades of pink or even use tissue paper and for summer use green paper for the leaves.

Other Variations:

Also check out my FALL CRAFTS board on pinterest for more.

3 thoughts on “Paper Torn Fall Tree

  1. Pingback: October Recap | Crafts By Margie

  2. Pingback: October Recap | Create With Me

  3. Pingback: Memory Book | Create With Me

Leave a Reply

