Decorative Wine Glasses

So yesterday I shared about Dia De Los Muertos and what I do with the wine glasses we decorate to read about it click here.

What You Need:

  • Wine Glass or Candle Holders
  • Material to decorate, acrylic jewels, lace, ribbon, printed out sugar skulls pictures
  • Scissors
  • Clear Elmer’s Glue
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Paint Brush

DSCN1676.1.jpg

These are the ones I kept over the years, I made several others but they were left behind at the cemetery. Also I say wine glasses or candle holders but you could do this to any type of glass such mason jars or vases. For the purpose of why we make them we need them to have a stem or handle because we light a candle and we don’t want to burn ourselves when the glass gets hot. The wine glasses we used were purchased at a second hand store and dollar tree.

To begin gather all your supplies, for images of sugar skulls my cousin found them online and made them in various sizes to use on our glasses.

When we decorated we all sat at two tables made into one long table so we were always passing things back and forth. So for myself what made it easy was to work on one at a time and get what I plan on using together.

So for the one below I had my images already cut out and had picked out green and pink jewels of various sizes. I had found four images of the couple and that was glued around with the pink oval in between.

dscn1685-0

Using the clear Elmer’s glue and paint brush, brush on some glue and placed the image on the glass. Then brush over the image with glue and using your fingers to smooth out the image getting out any bubbles. Use the hot glue gun to glue the jewels into place. Once you are done, set aside to allow to fully dry.

This is very simple and sometimes quick to decorate your glass, unlike the one below was time consuming. I found all the round jewels of various sizes and started from the top going around and working my way down the glass.

DSCN1708.0.jpg

Each year I usually made around 3 or 4, I probably would make more but I have to save glasses and materials for others to use lol.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Decorative Wine Glasses

  1. Pingback: CRAFTS: Felt Sugar Skulls | Crafts By Margie

  2. Pingback: October Recap | Crafts By Margie

  3. Pingback: October Recap | Create With Me

  4. Pingback: Felt Sugar Skulls | Create With Me

Leave a Reply

