Sugar Skulls

I found some skulls and skull door knockers at Dollar Tree last year and I decided to buy a few to paint and make sugar skulls.

What You Need:

  • Skulls
  • Paint
  • Paint Brushes
  • Optional: Anything else you would like to use to decorate (flowers, acrylic jewels, ribbon, glitter, etc)

Skull:

To begin I started painting the skull white, leaving the black untouched. I had to do a few coats to fully cover the skull. After that I painted in the eyes, nose and mouth with black.

IMAG3578.1.jpg

Once that all dries, then you can design your skull with bright colors, flowers, vines etc. If you are having trouble with coming up with some ideas you can just google “sugar skulls” for some ideas.

Skull Door Knocker:

With the door knocker I decided not to paint the skull white but I did paint the eyes, nose and outline the teeth with black. Then I painted my design and added flowers, I kept it pretty simple.

If you decided to make your own sugar skull be sure to tag me on Instagram.

4 thoughts on “Sugar Skulls

  1. Pingback: CRAFTS: Felt Sugar Skulls | Crafts By Margie

  2. Pingback: October Recap | Crafts By Margie

  3. Pingback: October Recap | Create With Me

  4. Pingback: Felt Sugar Skulls | Create With Me

Leave a Reply

