Felt Sugar Skulls

Here is my final craft I have to share for Dia De Los Muertos, I’ll post a links at the bottom to the other Dia De Los Muertos crafts.

What You Need:

  • Felt in various colors
  • Yarn in various colors
  • Thread in various colors
  • Needles
  • Glue Gun
  • Glue Sticks
  • Scissors
  • Pillow stuffing

IMG_1940.1.jpg

So my aunt gave me all the materials I needed to make these last year. At first I had no idea where to start, I began looking up stitching and different types.

After I found stitching types, I cut out all my pieces for each skull. I free hand drew some of the patterns and I found some online. I provided templates click on links listed below and print out. I would print them out on card stock it would make it easier to trace.

With the sugar skull below, I glued the center of the black circle to the blue flower. I did a “up and over” stitch on, you can do longer stitches if you want. Then I glued the flower onto the skull.

IMG_1940.2.jpg

 

This is my first time doing any kind of stitching so I stitched on the mouth and did a blanket stitch around the nose and the edges of the skull. To help keep the nose in place I glued the center onto the skull. To do a blanket stitch, click here, this website has pictures to show you how.

After I finished the face, I then started stitching the edges and be sure to leave an opening to stuff it with stuffing, then close it up and your are done.

I glued a piece of ribbon, making a loop so I could hang it on my wall.

The one on the left, I struggled with the spiderweb on the forehead, I did it several times. I also had trouble with teeth on the previous one that I just make this mouth simple.

The one on the right, I helped my brother with this one, I did the face and he did the edges. I mean at least he tried.

Well this concludes my crafts on Dia De Los Muertos, currently I’m working on some new projects that I had planned to do a few weeks ago but I kept putting it off. Below are the links to find previous post I shared this past week.

If you make anything I shared, be sure to tag me on Instagram, I would love to see.

2 thoughts on “Felt Sugar Skulls

  1. Pingback: October Recap | Crafts By Margie

  2. Pingback: October Recap | Create With Me

Leave a Reply

