Melted Crayon Art – Pumpkin

Last year I went to the pumpkin patch with my nephew and I was able to bring home a pumpkin. It sat on the kitchen table for a few days before I actually did anything with it. While cleaning my room I came across some magenta crayon melts and I knew exactly what I was going to do with the pumpkin.

What You Need:
Pumpkin
White Paint
Metallic Gold Paint
Paint Brush
Crayons
Glue Gun
Blow Dryer
Poster Paper

IMG_4237.1.jpg

These are the crayons I’m talking about, I actually found them on clearance at Wal-Mart a few months before I used them last year. Regular crayons will work just fine for this project.

crayola-meltdown-crayons-8-pkg-magenta_2845571

Okay to begin, I painted my pumpkin white, you can leave it as is but I wanted the crayons to stand out when I melted them. Then I painted the stem metallic gold.

IMAG3934.1.jpg

Next remove all the wrappers from the crayons and break them in halt, it doesn’t need to be perfect. Then glue them using the glue gun to the top of your pumpkin around the stem.

IMG_4276.1.jpg

I did this next step outside because it can get messy, lay down some poster paper or anything to protect the surface you are doing this on. Using the blow dryer on high heat, melt your crayons. You want to hold the blow dryer above the pumpkin pointing down so the crayons will melt down the pumpkin.

IMG_4281.1.jpg

There is no right way to do this, you can melt as much as you want. To change the way the crayon melts down, just turn the blow dryer in the direction you want it to drip.

If you do this to your pumpkin be sure to tag me on Instagram, I would love to see it.

3 thoughts on “Melted Crayon Art – Pumpkin

  1. Pingback: October Recap | Crafts By Margie

  2. Pingback: October Recap | Create With Me

  3. Pingback: Melted Crayon Art | Create With Me

Leave a Reply

